Creativity · DIY · Fun ideas · inspiring people · Thoughts

How to Be an Explorer of the World – Inspiration from Keri Smith

image of the day from keri smith’s blog

I discovered Keri Smith randomly by just searching for books on creativity on amazon a year or so ago. Her book “How to Be an Explorer of the World” showed up and I was instantly intrigued by her work. She is a artist/writer/illustrator turned Guerilla Artist. She looks at ordinary every day life experiences and transforms them into something playful and meaningful. She challenges you to turn the landscapes and space around you into works of art and acts of simple creativity. She seems like one super-cool lady!

I ended up purchasing two of her books: Live Out Loud: Activities to Fuel a Creative Life and The Guerilla Art Kit .  Both are really fun to read! I’m terrible when it comes to inspiration and motivation though. I get ginormous bursts of it and plan on doing all these great things. And then it’s gone. So sadly, I havent been able to try out a lot of the activities in the books, but maybe it’s a summer goal?! I also need a partner (or two or three) in crime! Who wants to go on a creative exploration and make seed bombs and chalk sidewalks with empowering messages?! A lovely friend of mine and I went out one night (about 6 years ago), armed with chalk and purpose. We snuck out at around 2am and drew fun pictures and wrote nice messages on the walkways of our friends’ houses (and also in public spaces). Art can be simple! And it can be shared and accessible!

How do you define ‘art’?
Do you find beauty in seemingly ordinary every day objects?

Here’s what Living out Loud really means to her:

There has been a theme in my life for the last few years of ‘letting go’, of a long list of things.
what people think
expectations
things
the need to control everything
what i want to happen in my career
how i want my relationship to be
the need to always be ‘nice’
the need to project the image of perfection (ha)
of needing to be liked
just to name a few.

This sounds eerily familiar to me. Each and every one of them. Letting go of the need to control is huge. More specifically, the need to control things that are out of my control. How ridiculous is that?

What kinds of things do you need to ‘let go’ of?
What are ways in which you try to ‘simplify’ your life and your mind?

One last thing. Try some of these journalling prompts out if you’re low on ideas!

http://www.kerismith.com/popular-posts/100-ideas/

Happy creating! xo.

6 thoughts on “How to Be an Explorer of the World – Inspiration from Keri Smith

  1. I love Keri Smith! About a year ago, I picked up “Wreck this Journal” and found it be incredibly liberating and inspiring. Every page has odd instructions that have you do everything from creating secret codes to painting with your fingers to doodling. Smith reminds us how to play and I am so grateful for her perspective on life. 🙂

    1. Oh nice! I haven’t checked out that book yet, but it sounds great. Thanks for the suggestion. I was just reading your blog and I love your post on the “Art of Wandering” and how you define it as “curiosity without boundaries”. Very insightful! Although I can’t say that I’m a true wanderer, I love exploring spaces that are off the usual path when travelling. I like trying to discover places that you wouldn’t find in a travel guide, cause those are generally the most meaningful 🙂

      1. Thank you for stopping by my blog – I appreciate it so much. 🙂 Travel is always a life-changing experience, but it becomes that much more significant when you do it on your own terms.

        I look forward to wandering around your blog. There’s a lot of interesting things around here! 🙂

  2. I just found Keri Smith’s blog a few months ago and I really love it. I really wanna see those books! Totally up for some activities of that sort.

Thoughts?

