Creativity · DIY · Fun ideas · Natural Health · Natural Living · Thoughts · writing

30 days of creativity

mmm delicious skin

Just in time! I just discovered this really amazing social initiative called “30 Days of Creativity” which encourages others to create one thing (it can be anything) a day for the entire month of June (but really, it can be any month). What a great idea! Most people are often intimidated by the word ‘creative’, feeling like just because they’re not labelled ‘artists’ or make what is typically considered ‘art’ (painting, sculpting, drawing), then they are not creative. I’ve had this mental block for the majority of my life, resisting the term because I didn’t exactly excel in high school art class.

Creativity is a state of mind! Creativity has no limits! Creativity is new ideas or adapted or altered or synthesized ideas! Creativity is a way of looking at the world! Creativity is seeing beauty and meaning in every day objects (a la keri smith)! Everyone has these abilities. I realize that I am creative every day. I problem solve, I look at ingredients and come up with an idea of what to make for dinner. I interact in adapted ways to better communicate with the people I support at work. I’m always reading up on different topics related to sustainable living, trying to think up simple ways on how to incorporate it into my life. I walk around, looking at my environment as through the lens of a camera, looking at objects from different angles and perspectives, capturing images with my mind. I love DIY. I love people who DIY.

So I decided I’m going to challenge myself to try the 30 Days of Creativity, starting today. Hopefully I can actually keep the momentum up (that is always my biggest obstacle). Since my main focus these days is on natural products,

aromatherapy and herbs, I’m going to try to direct this knowledge towards the challenge.

Day 1: I made an all natural softening bath powder. mmm! Later today, I’m going to try it out.

mmm delicious skin

Lavender and Calendula Bath Soak

  • 1 cup Oatmeal (ground in a food processor or coffee bean grinder)
  • 1 cap Epsom Salts
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • Dried Lavender flowers (a couple handfuls)
  • Dried Calendula flowers (a couple handfuls)
  • 5 drops Lavender essential oil (add drop by drop and shake thoroughly)
  • 5 drops Clary Sage essential oil (add drop by drop and shake thoroughly)

And voila! Transfer to a pretty mason jar to store.

You can also add some dried milk powder and a combination of different herbs and oils.
This can also double (or triple) as a face or body exfollient.

  • Oatmeal is very skin softening and is good for relieving itches and irritation.
  • Baking soda deodorizes and softens bath water
  • calendula is healing and skin softening. it is mildly astringent and is great for all skin types, especially sensitive and environmentally damaged skin.
  • Epsom salt helps to relieve aches and pains and is good for muscle soaks
  • Lavender is really soothing and calming and is great for sensitive and irritated skin
  • Clary sage is very relaxing and has a slight narcotic effect!
Try it!
Whose else is going to do the challenge??
Thoughts?

