Natural Health · politics & anti-oppression · Thoughts

On Wellness and Balance Part 2

Wellness is also about balance. We all play different roles in our lives (student, mother, partner, employee, volunteer, crafter extraordinaire,  friend, social activist, etc). How much energy do we invest in each? Do we ignore certain parts of ourselves? If you were to rate the percentage of all the different aspects of your health, which one is your strongest? which one do you struggle with the most?

Of course, we don’t always have control over all these aspects. There are personal aspects to wellness and there are social aspects to wellness. We cannot ignore the fact that there are many systemic barriers that can prevent some of us from achieving optimum health such as poverty and lack of employment, racial stereotyping and exclusion, queer violence and repression of sexual and gendered expressions, violence against women and controlling relationships, etc. These can strongly have an impact on all types of wellness. Telling someone in these situations that they should just try to take more self-responsibility or to try thinking more positively can be disempowering and just as oppressive.

That being said, we can take a look at what we can control personally and take an inventory. This is one good tool to do that.

Mine is really off balance right now. Too much work and introspection, not enough relaxation, connection with friends and participation in the greater community.

On that note, I’m going to make another pot of tea and find some quiet space.

graffiti in china town, toronto

How do you practice self-love?
How does this contribute to better wellness?

5 thoughts on “On Wellness and Balance Part 2

  1. Balancing the different roles we play in our lives can be difficult: some days we are good at it, other days not so successful. The balancing act for me is easier if I ensure I spend time exercising, and taking 5 – 10 minutes alone time (even if it is while cooking dinner).

    1. Hey Colline! Thanks for the comment. Those are some good strategies. For me, exercising is always the one thing that I miss or put off, even though I know how helpful it would be to stress levels. I find even doing 10 mins or so of stretching is better than nothing 🙂

  2. Balance is essential. I’m in a profession where it’s really easy to get overwhelmed and overworked. I love my job, but it took a long time for me to set boundaries for just how far its allowed to creep into my personal life. With those boundaries firmly in place, I have time to play and do the things that make me whole. Work is big part of life, but it can’t be the whole of it. 🙂

    1. This is so true, and actually the thing that I struggle with the most. My job is also quite stressful and because there is so much to do with so little time, it’s easy to get overwhelmed by letting the boundaries between ‘personal’ and ‘professional’ blur. How did you manage to set proper boundaries? I keep trying and failing haha.

      1. It relates back to what I said on Part I. The power of choice creates those boundaries. For a long time, I felt powerless in my job and it ruled my life. I’d work 12 or 14 hours a day and wonder why I wasn’t happy. Then I realized there is a time for work and a time to stop. The work load hasn’t changed, but my ability to handle it has. When I allow myself only 8 or 9 hours to complete tasks, it takes creativity and organization to get the job done and done well. If there are no limits on how long I can spend on something I’ll mull over it for hours and hours. Put that boundary in place and you’ll be amazed at how you’ll meet that challenge and be happier because of that challenge. 🙂

Thoughts?

