Creativity · DIY · Fun ideas · photography · Thoughts · writing

Ways of Seeing – How to Transform the Mundane into Wonder

Ahh, so the patience and gentleness and breathing and leaning-into-the-discomfort-of -feeling-blocked worked wonders.

The pause.

The space.

The letting go.

I woke up this morning groggy, but way more grounded. Behind my heavy eyes, the old excitement hid. I could feel it.

I left for my walk to work and everything was illuminated with wonder and possibility again. I walked past the gardens, noticing that one of the trees that I walked past most days was growing blackberries and raspberries – many having fallen on the sidewalk and crushed by passerbys. I could hear the steady babbling of the creek – wooshing, rushing, hissing alongside the street.

The world seemed open again. It all felt connected again.

The parking lot of the apartment building where I support one of my clients is an aesthetic wasteland – the cement broken and cracked in places, the dump bins overflowing, littered with garbage and discarded old furniture. I walked through it after my shift and noticed a small snail shell resting on the concrete. I took my camera out to document it. Near it, rested a white feather and a strip of bark covered in green moss.

The previously unappealing environment began to take on a whole new light. It became an exploration for random objects and hidden beauty.

I kept snapping photos, keeping my eyes to the ground. A half dozen steps over sat another shell. And then another – a secret trail. I continued to map out the surroundings, transforming it as I went. (I probably looked suspicious and strange crouching in the empty parking lot, camera pinned to the ground. But I didn’t care!)

Overlooking the lot is a lush green space, towering with trees, bushes, and flowers. I began looking around, searching out the small details.

another raspberry bush!

Anywhere can become a space of beauty and wonder. You just have to really look for it. Be mindful. Use your senses. Look up. Look down. Look all around you. What do you see?

I took a slightly different route home. I stopped by the creek to sit on the rocks and listen. I walked past the gardens again, stopping to sit on one of the benches. The rain was gentle and cool on my skin. Ahh, bliss.

How can you transform a familiar space into something new & wonderous?

Happy exploring! xo.

5 thoughts on “Ways of Seeing – How to Transform the Mundane into Wonder

    1. Thanks so much for reading and leaving a thoughtful comment! That’s fantastic – I love photographing the ‘ordinary’. We take so much for granted and fail to notice all the beauty around us. I’m going to check out your blog now!

Thoughts?

