30 days of creativity challenge · Creativity · DIY · Fun ideas · mindfulness & spirituality · Natural Health · Natural Living

Food For Your Belly, Food For Your Skin

Yesterday was such a beautiful day (until I got too much sun + not nearly enough water = got really dizzy and sick). I made two trips to the market. The first time I randomly met up with a few lovely friends who I rarely see these days. I wasn’t early enough to score any fresh strawberries, but I did buy a tasty as hell cupcake from Slow Acres Organics (white chocolate, rhubarb & rose water). The second round of market-ing equaled making a beeline for Sybil’s homemade curry and then bringing it to the park beside the river. We lounged under a tree with our curry and iced coffees for the afternoon. We watched other loungers with their kids and dogs and summer dresses, as well as a CPR class out practicing on blankets in the grass. Oh, ideal simple summer activities. Worry-free and sadly limited.

We then came up with a brilliant plan to go to the library to borrow a few nature documentaries (because you know, one can only handle so much *outside* nature and sun), followed by a brief walk to the grocery store to buy iced teas and watermelon. So that’s what we did: watermelon and nature films in front of the fan. Part 1 of Day 15 of 30 Days of Creativity.

Unfortunately, I spend the rest of the evening feeling tired and queasy and sick. I slept most of the time, but managed to squeeze in a quick and easy DIY (but not enough energy to actually post) before going back to bed.

These last few months, I’ve been trying to go completely natural when it comes to skincare. I’ve been trying to live by the philosophy: “don’t put anything on your skin that you wouldn’t want to put in your mouth”, or something along those lines.

I had an overripe banana in my freezer. It wasn’t enough to make banana bread, so I did the next best thing: I put it on my face! I blended it with some milk and some honey. All of these ingredients are highly emollient and skin softening. I slopped it on (there’s no way you can make it look appealing) and waited for 10-15 minutes before rinsing it off. I then applied some pure unrefined coconut oil to further moisuturize. Holy crap, softest skin ever!

Measurements in Approximations
1/2 an uber-ripe banana
1 tsp honey
1 tbsp milk (or plain yogurt)

another stupid face of course
face smoothie! sluuurp

You can get really creative with what you put on your skin, but here are a bunch of recipes and some information about the benefits of specific fruits 

I should have used some leftover watermelon as a masque as well. Apparently it’s really good for treating zits & blemishes. Yum!

Thoughts?

