30 days of creativity challenge · Creativity · DIY · Fun ideas · inspiring people · Natural Health · Natural Living · Nature · writing

Livingroom picnics & Fresh Rhubarb Sauce

Okay Day 9!

What an awesome day it’s been. I treated myself to a massage this morning (achiness to the extreme), had an epsom salt bath, then took a nap. A very lovely friend came over, bringing a picnic with her! We were supposed to have it outside, but due to the threatening sky and the risk of getting soaked, we decided to turn the living room into a picnic. It was impromptu, so we didn’t have all the accessories, but we threw a blanket down on the floor and voila! So, I extend the entire credit for the  first part of my day of creativity to Emma.

She mixed together a colourful Mexican style quinoa salad, some super delicious kale chips (I’ve not generally a fan of “greens”, but these were so tasty – vegetables masked as snack food!) and a yummy veggie meat sandwich from Sam’s Place Deli (the “meat” is soyless, so I can’t figure out how they made it. Impressive!).

quinoa salad with black beans, corn, avocado, green & red peppers, green onions, lime and cilantro

Later this afternoon, a friend and I went to visit someone’s big beautiful old farm (unfortunately, I didn’t bring along a camera). She has a gorgeous wild looking garden, a personal pond, a rustic barn (complete with barn cats!) that houses two lovable horses, and lots of land. She said that it was always her dream to live this way and she finally reached it at the age of forty, twenty years ago. She told me that she still wakes up every morning excited and in awe that she is living her dream. I grew up disliking horses, not trusting them – viewing them as unpredictable and overpowering. This was the second time in my adult life that I’ve been up close and personal with them. They were so gentle and shy. One of them was completely blind, but such an affectionate people-lover. Such large and powerful, but soothing animals. What a great experience. Growing up in the suburbs can really deprive one of a true connection with the natural environment. Bonus: I also scored a handful of fresh rhubarb straight from the garden!

So, with some good advice from friends (and the end of the day quickly approaching), I got to work on my contribution to Day number 9.

Rhubarb, Sour Cherry and Peppermint Jelly (sans pectin)

Wash and chop the rhubarb into approx 1 inch pieces. Throw them into a pot dry with some sugar. I only made a small sample batch, so I used about a 1/2 cup of sugar (honestly, I rarely measure). Turn the stove burner on low and cook together slowly.

I then added in some sour cherries (frozen, but fresh would have been better). The juice from the cherries really got the mixture cooking.

Keep stirring. I added some fresh peppermint & chocolate mint to give it any extra layer of flavour (I’ve never used this combo before, but figured it wouldn’t hurt. Hurrah for simple experimentation!)

I continued simmering and stirring for about 15-20 minutes until the fruit was really soft.

Mmm. I ran out of time because I had to go to work, but I think I’d like to make some chocolate cupcakes and use this sauce as the filling. It would also be really tasty on toast or poured over ice cream.

xo.

2 thoughts on “Livingroom picnics & Fresh Rhubarb Sauce

  1. I am loving these posts so much. I get really bad social anxiety around planning things, lately, but I really wanna plan some crafty fun in the next 22 days!

Thoughts?

