30 days of creativity challenge · Creativity · DIY · Fun ideas

Flowers & Creativity

My camera ran out of batteries so I wasn’t able to photograph and post my creation for yesterday. So today is a two-in-one deal!

This week has been really busy so I’ve been resorting to projects that don’t take up much time at all. I thought about skipping today altogether, but I’m on a personal mission to complete this – cause I’m terrible at following things through til the end. So here we go.

Materials used for the past two days:

  • felt
  • scissors
  • button
  • needle and thread
  • cotton fabric
  • acrylic and watercolour paint
  • magazine cutouts
  • a printed quotation

Day 6: Felt flower pin

Day 7: Floral collage

I cut out an image from a magazine for the background (bouquet of flowers) and then splashed some swirls of paint over top (no talent required) so that some of the texture from the original image still bled through. I cut n’ pasted images of a bird and another flower on top, along with a really beautiful Mary Oliver quote.

The Summer Day
Mary Oliver

Who made the world?
Who made the swan, and the black bear?
Who made the grasshopper?
This grasshopper, I mean-
the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

from New and Selected Poems, 1992
Beacon Press, Boston, MA

Thoughts?

